TE150 wins MSU-AT&T Award

by | Sunday, March 23, 2008

Matt Koehler and I just arrived in New York, 3 hours late, checked into our hotel, paid 14.95 for internet – and guess what it was all worth it. One of the first emails I had received informed us that we had won the 2008 MSU-AT&T Instructional Technology Awards Competition for our course TE150: Reflections on Learning. The award responds “to the growing use of online technologies for instruction” and recognizes “and encourage best practices in the use of technology to enhance teaching and learning.”

The draft citation for TE150 says the following:

Moodle, Facebook and a rich range of media formats combine in this grand design experiment to embody and teach learning principles, informed by design critiques and rigorous research.

None of this would have been possible without the excellent group of designers, teachers and technology support people we have had working with us over the past two years. Matt and I would like to formally thank the following people:

The original design team: Anne Heintz, Michael Lee, Tianyi Zhang & Jinjie Zheng.

The Teaching assistants: Anne Heintz, Mike DeSchryver & Andrea Francis

The technology support/programming: Ken Dirkin, Ashish Dore & Laurence Bates

And finally Gail Nutter & Carole Ames for their support at all levels.

Note: I had blogged about our submission here though the posting is password protected since it contains student letters, student feedback etc., so it isn’t of much use.

Topics related to this post: Design | Learning | Online Learning | Personal | Psychology | Teaching | Technology

A few randomly selected blog posts…

Metaphors, Minds, Technology & Learning

Metaphors, Minds, Technology & Learning

Note: The shared blogging experiment with Melissa Warr and Nicole Oster continues. This time we delve into metaphors of the mind, technology and generative AI. The core idea and first draft came from Melissa, to which I contributed a substantial rewrite. The final...

TPCK book covers

I finally received a copy of the Handbook of TPCK for educators (which I had blogged about previously here). It looks great! Matt and I have a key chapter (Introducing TPCK). I hadn't read this in a while, and after I got the book, I skimmed it... and it reads well....

Day 2 Morning session, Mishra & Light

I just completed my presentation Education Technology and Teacher Education, the TPACK framework. I think it went well, though you have to talk to ask the audience what they "really" think. I had been allocated 60 minutes for my talk - but Radha and I discussed...

Baby Talk

This piece was written sometime early 1996 when we were expecting our first child. I posted it to the web when we were expecting our second. It still reads well... Connections A few weeks ago, Smita (my wife) and I found out that we were going to have a baby–our...

Praise-blame ambigram in 3D

Jon Good has been playing around with some new 3D printers we just bought and this is what he printed for me - a 3-D version of the "praise-blame" ambigram (click here for the 2-D version). How cool is that! So what you are seeing in the top half is the printed...

ChatGPT3 writes a Mathematical Proof (in verse)

ChatGPT3 writes a Mathematical Proof (in verse)

Many years ago I got interested in writing poetry about mathematics (all archived on my Math-Poetry page). Just to be clear, I am not a good poet (far from it) and I am even less of a mathematician—but it was a fun exercise to engage in. That said, a couple of my...

Goldbach is back! New math poem

I guess once the bug bites, it never really lets go. So here's another poem (to follow this and this and this). As it turns out this is my second poem on the Goldbach Conjecture. I realized after I had written the first one that I had actually messed up the history a...

With Gratitude

With Gratitude

This past Monday was a special. That evening I was at Manitas School in Kyrene school district for the ribbon-cutting of the new school model we have been working on for the past two years. An important part of the evening was the reveal of the name of the new school...

What is this thing called text?

Steven Johnson has a great essay on the future of text title: The Glass Box And The Commonplace Book. I recommend reading the full thing but here is a quote that sort of captures his vision (though there is more, much more). Here is a great quote: WHEN TEXT IS free to...

1 Comment

  1. Cherice

    Congrats, Punya! The award is well-deserved!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *